AS PROUD METROPOLITAN DETROITERS, IT IS OUR RESPONSIBILITY TO REVITALIZE THE ATTITUDES OF OUR CITIZENS, THE POLITICAL, ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL ATMOSPHERE OF OUR STATE, AND THE PERCEPTIONS OF OUTSIDERS.

CREATE YOUR LEGACY.

JOIN THE DETROIT ARMY NOW...

Monday, April 21, 2008

IRON CHEF PLANS TO OPEN RESTUARANT AT REVAMPED BOOK CADILLAC HOTEL

The Detroit Free Press is reporting that a chef from the television show "Iron Chef" on the food network, plans to open restaurant at revamped Book Cadillac hotel.

"Michael Symon, a star of television’s “Iron Chef” food show and one of the nation’s fastest-rising celebrity chefs, will open an upscale restaurant this fall at the Westin Book Cadillac Detroit hotel." The Free Press goes on to state, "The Culinary Institute of America graduate was named one of the Ten Best New Chefs by Food & Wine in 1998."
Source: Detroit Free Press

While I have been told that Mr. Symon's restaurants in Cleveland are quite good, I still can't decide whether this announcement is exciting or just completely unimpressive. To me, an upscale chain restaurant or steakhouse in the vein of Ruth's Chris or Capital Grille would have solidified the Book Cadillac as a premier hotel destination within the city. On the other hand, an upscale unique/independent restaurant opened by a nationally known chef or even a well known local chef would also have been intriguing.

Somehow though, what seems like a low brow pseudo celebrity chef from a television show doesn't get me motivated to take out a pen and paper and write home about it. I wonder if I'm out of line?
Detroit Army

2 comments:

Diane said...

I think this is positive news for the Book Cadillac and Detroit. A restaurant like Ruth's Chris or Capital Grille would never get as much attention and interest as the Iron Chef's restaurant would. A unique restaurant in Detroit gives people from the metro area a reason to head to the city and have a meal they can't find in the suburbs. The Book Cadillac will be a distinctive component of downtown Detroit and the restaurant in the hotel should be the same.

Shelby said...

I think Michael Symon qualifies as a "well known national chef." Yes, his little made-for-TV persona is irritating, but the guy can cook. I've been to his restaurant Lola in Cleveland, and while I only had a couple of appetizers, I can say that it's quite good.

I think allowing him to feature his food at the Book allows for a nice little analogy to be drawn between Symon and the city: now his star has the potential to rise along with Detroit's, and we can all watch as the trajectories of each continue, hopefully, along the same path.